Harry Potter Moment of the Week: Books for Dumbledore’s TBR

Harry Potter Moment of the Week is a Thursday meme created by Leah of Uncorked Thoughts and hosted by Mimz of Lunar Rainbows which offers a weekly Harry Potter-related prompt.

This week’s prompt is: Which books would you recommend to Dumbledore?

I’m sure that Dumbledore is very well-read, both in magical and Muggle books, but I’ll give it a shot!

676737

Grendel by John Gardner

Grendel tells the story of “the first and most terrifying monster in English literature,” Grendel from the 8th century epic poem Beowulf, from Grendel’s perspective. It is an incredible, philosophical work, and given Dumbledore’s affinity for unlikely heroes, I think he would appreciate this underdog story.

16170202

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

The Hobbit is a classic, but I think it, like much else of Tolkien’s writing, is frequently overlooked because of the trilogy. I’m sure Dumbledore would love The Lord of the Rings, too, but I think he’d also get a lot of amusement from Bilbo’s rise from blundering, food-obsessed simpleton to bold, adventurous legend. And I’m sure he’d love to see how another wizard had a hand in elevating him to that point!

19671968

Grimm’s Complete Fairy Tales by Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm

I think it would also amuse Dumbledore to learn what Muggles make of magic. Grimm’s tales are, well, grim, but Dumbledore has a high confront of evil, so I know he could tolerate a little unpleasantness. I think he would consider reading fairy tales and myths pleasurable research.

7636611

Dracula by Bram Stoker

I get the feeling that Dumbledore, unlike me, enjoys a bit of a thrill, so I think he would love a thriller like Bram Stoker’s Dracula, enjoyed with some tongue-tingling lemon drops!

What do you think of my picks? Which books would you recommend to Dumbledore?

5 thoughts on “Harry Potter Moment of the Week: Books for Dumbledore’s TBR

  1. These are nice picks, I do think Dumbledore would get a kick out of Bilbo and his escapades. Plus he could nod sagely when he gets to the Gandalf parts, with all the Important Things the wizard has to do. And fairy tales too…

    Like

  2. Nice selection! I had the same issue as you did, Dumbledore is obviously well read so what do you recommend for someone like that?! I went with Hobbit/LotR too, I think Dumbledore would LOVE Bilbo and definitely relate to Gandalf 😀 The Grimm stories are another excellent one, I’m sure he’d enjoy those! Oh and I love your comment about the lemon drops ♥ GREAT post^^

    Like

Leave a Reply

